CANCELED – “WHEN THEY SEE US” Screening and Discussion (Part 1) – The Hill Center

EVENT CANCELED: The Hill Center is suspending all programs from March 15-31, 2020. The Hill Center will be closed to the public during that time. Visit the Hill Center website for more information.

As part of the Ava DuVernay citywide tribute festival, the 2020 One Woman One Vote Festival in partnership with OCTFME, the Hill Center, Gala Hispanic Theatre, and the Mid-Atlantic Innocence Project will screen a single episode from the 4-part miniseries of When They See Us followed by community conversations around the key justice themes of the series. Additional screenings will be announced.

Winner of the 2020 Critics Choice Award for Best Limited Series. 2019 Emmy Award® for Outstanding Actor in a Limited Series or Movie – Jharrel Jerome.

Based on a true story that gripped the country, When They See Us chronicles the notorious case of five teenagers of color, labeled the Central Park Five (now the Exonerated Five), who were convicted of a rape they did not commit. The four part limited series will focus on the five teenagers from Harlem — Antron McCray, Kevin Richardson, Yusef Salaam, Raymond Santana and Korey Wise. Beginning in the spring of 1989, when the teenagers were first questioned about the incident, the series will span 25 years, highlighting their exoneration in 2002 and the settlement reached with the city of New York in 2014.

PART 1 Description: In the spring of 1989, five boys of color are arrested, interrogated and coerced into confessing to the vicious attack of a woman in Central Park.

When They See Us was created by Ava DuVernay, who also co-wrote and directed the four parts. The series stars Emmy Award® Nominee Michael K. Williams, Academy Award® Nominee Vera Farmiga, Emmy Award® Winner John Leguizamo, Academy Award® Nominee and Emmy Award® Winner Felicity Huffman, Emmy Award® Nominee Niecy Nash, Emmy Award® Winner and two-time Golden Globe Nominee Blair Underwood, Emmy Award® and Grammy Award® Winner and Tony Award® Nominee Christopher Jackson, Joshua Jackson, Omar J. Dorsey, Adepero Oduye, Famke Janssen, Aurora Perrineau, William Sadler, 2020 Emmy Award® Winner Jharrel Jerome, Jovan Adepo, Aunjanue Ellis, Kylie Bunbury, Marsha Stephanie Blake, Storm Reid, Dascha Polanco, Chris Chalk, Freddy Miyares, Justin Cunningham, Ethan Herisse, Caleel Harris, Marquis Rodriguez, and Asante Blackk.




Mar 18 2020


7:00 pm


No Admission Fee


The Hill Center
921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE, Washington, DC 20003


2020 One Women One Vote Festival

Other Organizers

The Hill Center
The Hill Center
QR Code